Beach Body

Hi my lovelys,

It’s been a minute, y’all. I spent some time traveling to Cancun, working out school technicalities and work drama stuff, but I’m back with my first ever, swimsuit look book! I tried to pick and piece together things that challenged me more than the average high waisted swim bottom and black once piece. So here we go…

IMG_7078

IMG_7104

IMG_7111

This is the first time, in a long time, that I’ve been comfortable enough to wear a swim suit that exposes my stomach. I’ve always been more insecure about my belly, I never liked the way it looked and always went out of my way to keep it covered. This was a challenge for me. Exposing the things that I felt the most insecure about gave me a lot of freedom; freedom to really just not give a single fuck! Honest to God, people were staring and taking pictures when we shot this look book and I was UNBOTHERED (aka I was irritated with the unsolicited pictures but I wasn’t embarrassed).

Let me stop mid blog to make a public service announcement: DO NOT TAKE PICTURES OF PEOPLE OUT OF MALICE AND WITH A PURPOSE TO HURT/MOCK THEM. YOU WILL NOT GO VIRAL, YOU ARE NOT GONNA BE ON WORLDSTARHIPHOP, YOU’RE JUST GOING TO LOOK LIKE A COMPLETE DOUCHE. PERIOD.

Okay, let’s resume.

IMG_7085

IMG_7096

 

This next look was my favorite!!!! So this is a Fashion Nova top that I paired with simple bottoms  from Adore Me. I was looking for a wrap bathing suit top (similar to this one minus the sleeves) but, fat girl problem, I couldn’t find any in my size. (PSA pt 2: Fashion companies, make all your designs with additionally sizing and sales will go through the damn roof.) Soooooo, I improvised and tada. BTW this definitely wouldn’t work in the ocean, but for sure a beach pool party or something laid back.

IMG_7112

I loved the swim set in the next look. It was a tube top and high waisted bottoms from Rebdolls. I added this sheer button up from Forever 21+, to give it drama….I really was trying for this shower look.

IMG_7100

IMG_7091

Shooting a look in water was so difficult, like my eyebrows and half my face was melting  off and I had to do everything in my power to not get the water in my mouth (Rule #1: Don’t drink the water in Mexico). I’m so extra y’all. At the end of the day, I did something that really challenged me. I’m proud of myself.

Baby girl, life is too short to spend your days covered up, worried about if someone is starting at you or not. Don’t let others control how you live your life out of fear of looking stupid or being judged. You are perfect as you are. You don’t need to lose 20lbs before you can wear that bikini, you don’t need approval as to what is ‘acceptable’ or not, and you sure as hell don’t need to put your happiness on hold until you look a certain way. If you want to do something, do it. Who cares what anyone is going to say? (easier said than done, I know girl). Honestly, someone will always have an opinion, might as well live your life the way you want to rather than letting them dictate your path.

Okay, for a minute let me talk about something really exciting that’s happening right now.

So, I’ve been lucky enough to have been chosen as one of the final contestants for the Finding Ashley Stewart 2017 Contest (#FASContest). I KNOW!!!! SO DOPE!!!! If you would like to see my submission video you can check out my IG (@alohamikaela). This contest really started out as me just wanting to share what was on my mind and heart at the moment, and it has turned into something so much greater. Being a final contestant is such an honor, alone. Being a finalist is already more representation for plus size Filipinas than there is now. I really hope, that if given the opportunity, I would be able to use my platform to add greater diversity to the plus size community. To represent my curvy Asians/ Pacific Islanders and to show that you don’t have to be a standard size of curvy to embrace and love who you are. I can go on and on about what I strive to achieve. One day, winner or not, my platform will have a massive impact. I will make sure of it.

So, if you ride with me, my vision and everything my blog is about, please vote for me! Voting period starts 08/16-08/23 and you can vote once per hour. Starting 08/16, my video will be on their website and you can vote there. If you follow me on IG or snapchat I will be talking more about voting and how to vote. Visit http://www.ashleystewart.com/ during the voting period, to cast your vote for ya girl!

Thank you for riding with me. Thank you to everyone who goes out of their way to reach out and say nice words… Thank you for the readers, thank you for the likes and comments, thank you for showing your endless support. You guys will never know the amount of gratitude I have for you. Blessed beyond belief.

IMG_7094


Look #1: Fashion Nova 
Look #2: Top- Fashion Nova, Bottoms- Adore Me
Look #3: Rebdolls 

 

Stay Bright, Baby Girl 

One thought on “Beach Body

Leave a Reply

