Tell me you’re that somebody

Y’ALL, YA GIRL IS BACK IN THE GAME!

Excuse my absence, I had oral surgery to have my wisdom teeth extracted and boy oh boy, that was one hell of a recovery. But what matters is that I’m no longer swollen and in pain.

FullSizeRender (13)

I have been really inspired by athleisure and street wear lately. Today’s post was inspired by the one, the only, Ms. Queen of the 90’s R&B, Aaliyah (also heavy inspo from Kehlani, but I gotta acknowledge the OG first lol) Is it just me, or everything I hear someone say Aaliyah, that little baby cry/laugh, voice over thing pops in my head (Don’t make me sound crazy y’all, I know you know what I’m talking about).

RIP baby girl.

IMG_5585


IMG_5589

This has been the most challenging look that I have shot yet, it turned out to also be my FAVORITE look thus far. Showing my stomach is still a challenge for me; I have always been really insecure of my stomach, especially how high my stretch marks travel. So this was definitely a step out of my comfort zone. I was pleasantly surprised with how much I ended up loving this look. Casual little stunt. I know it sounds cheesy, especially since my stomach isn’t really showing that much, but I feel like embracing myself, rather than shutting myself down really helped make this look everything that it is. It’s the confidence and the freedom I gained, that made this look my favorite.

 

So if you’re thinking about trying a sports bra and sweats, 90’s inspired look, GO FOR IT! Baby girl, those stretch marks aren’t going anywhere, embrace them, love them! Anyone whom is bothered by them, fuck em! Don’t limit yourself because of fear, big girls can wear athleisure and street wear too. You will find a lot of empowerment by embracing yourself fully and by just living, baby!

IMG_5586


FullSizeRender (11)



 

On that note: let have our well overdue tea talk.

The grass is greener where you water it.

Let’s break this down for the people in the back. If you’re in a situation and you’re not happy about it, you have all the power in the world to flip the switch, and change that negative into a positive. You have just as much time in the day as everyone else, how you utilize your precious time matters. Where are you investing your time? Are you spending your day bitching and moaning about the situation you’re in OR are you spending your time at the drawing board, plotting how to relieve yourself from the situation you’re in. *insert ‘Mikaela it’s not that easy, some situations can’t be fixed, I didn’t plan for this, I didn’t put myself in this situation, etc….’* Listeeennnnnnnn, I get it, trust me. It’s not always that easy and change is slow, always has been, always will be. But if you’re fixated on how bad your situation is, rather than your solution, you will always be unhappy. Your energy is the influencer. If you are in a bad place in life, but you have a kick ass attitude and you’re looking for the consistent improvement, I guarantee that you’ll be happier and more motivated to be in a better place.

Sometimes you gotta have a moment of weakness. Rest. Wallow for a minute. But that moment of weakness can’t last you weeks or months. Get out ya feelings sis. Go out there and make your life everything you wanted it to be. Water your roots. Grow. Sprout. and stay Bright!

FullSizeRender (12)


Jersey: Yatir Clothing
Pants: Forever 21 Plus
Sunnies: Quay x Desi Perkins in Sahara

 

 

Stay Bright, Baby Girl

 

Leave a Reply

